Anne Lamott

For those of you who automatically know the woman who’s name is my title: YAY! For those of you who don’t: Shame on you! (Just kidding, but seriously, you should know her!)

lamotte-9939[1]

This is Anne Lamott, writer, awesome person and human being. If you haven’t read one of her books, you should go out and do it! Now! (ok, well, after you finish reading this post…)

I read my first Anne Lamott book about two years ago. It was this one:

9780679435204[1]

Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life.

I. Was. Hooked. I read it in about forty-eight hours. I haven’t stopped reading her books yet.

Right now I’m reading this one:

grace-eventually-by-anne-lamott-mobile-wallpaper[1]

I’m only on chapter four, but so far it is BRILLIANT! Anne is able to articulate thoughts that I can’t. It’s like reading a portion of my brain. So I thought today I’d share  one of the quotes I found when I was reading this morning.

“Sometimes I think that Jesus watched my neurotic struggles, and shakes his head and grips his forehead and starts tossing back mojitos.”

This sounds a little weird out of context, but I have a bunch of shitty moments where I go completely berserk and feel like no one can help me! In those moments I turn to things that pull me out of the real world. Movies, t.v shows, books, but not often to God. I now that turning to Him is the only thing that can really give me peace, but a lot of times I choose not to. That is when this quote applies…

********

I’m trying to teach myself to turn to God instead of my vices. Of course mine aren’t bad things like Drugs, or alcohol, but they aren’t God. Maybe if I turn to God instead of those things, I might end up having less neurotic moments and actually be able to live my life…

Just a thought…

Love to all, as always,

Mae

One thought on “Anne Lamott

Leave a Reply

