Bright Star

So, I didn’t post about it at the time, but the Tony Awards is my very favorite event of the year. As documented by my dear Gracie friend this year…I get very excited…

As those of you who follow the wonderful world of Broadway already know, Hamilton swept almost every category it was nominated in. If I’m remembering correctly (and feel free to correct me if I’m wrong) the only notable categories they did not win were: Best Leading Actress in a Musical, which went to the phenomenal Cynthia Erivo for her role as Celie in The Color Purple. And Best Scenic Design of a Musical which went to the revival of She Loves Me. They took home 12 of the 16 they were nominated for.

There were other musicals that caught my eye though, specifically Bright Star, a gorgeous Bluegrass musical written by Steve Martin, and Edie Brickell.

Bright_Star_Playbill_cover

The story set mainly in the 1940s but, frequently flashing back to to the 1920s, focuses on publisher Alice; Who goes on a journey of self discovery while searching for her long lost child. We see her young years in Zebulon in the 20s, and her journey as an older woman in the 40s.

Alice was played by the magnificent Carmen Cusack, and her love interest was played by Paul Alexander Nolan.

Sadly, the show closed June 26th, after a short run on the Great White Way. However, there are plenty of performances online from the show that you can watch, and the album is available as well. It’s worth a listen.

So, because I haven’t posted a video in almost a month, and I love this musical, here’s If You Knew My Story, from Bright Star:

Love to all, As Always,

Mae

 

Leave a Reply

